WHY PHYSALIDE ?

Architecture is one of the human activities with the greatest impact on the environment. Today’s construction is an unprecedented consumer of non-renewable materials, energy, land, and the largest producer of waste in Switzerland.

Faced with the fragility of our environment, the overexploitation of resources, global warming and the depletion of biodiversity, it is up to us to react and to change things.

Physalide was born out of our desire to question the now conventional practices of architecture and to explore ecological and sustainable alternative solutions, to rediscover the link between human beings and nature, and to offer a healthy and harmonious built environment.

BECAUSE...

«Concrete production produces 4.2 billion tonnes of CO2 annually, far ahead of aviation.»

Laisse béton?, TRACES nov. 2020, Espazium

TOWARDS A RESPONSIBLE ARCHITECTURE

mountain in the fog

Regarding the environment

We are developing an architecture aiming at circular economy and reduced carbon footprint by taking into account needs and constraints from the very beginning of the project. We favour the use of bio-sourced, recycled and reused materials from short circuits. We plan to optimise energy use, minimise waste and promote biodiversity.

old house covered with climbing plant

Regarding the built heritage

We refuse the automatic principle « raze to rebuild » and prefer to add, renovate and transform existing buildings in a process of respect and integration into the built and natural environment.

The existing should not be seen as a handicap, but as a rich and fertile resource for today’s projects.

moulding of an adobe

Regarding the human being

We have at heart to meet the needs and desires of the client and to create a healthy environment for the user by emphasising natural materials, a pleasant indoor climate and good air quality.

We also attach great importance to valuing the work of craftsmen in the construction industry.

«Our current architecture violates common sense.»

Yona Friedman, The architecture of survival

SERVICES & SKILLS

Feasibility study

You wish to build, renovate or extend, but are uncertain about the laws, the building potential or the costs? We can provide you with an analysis of the legal framework of your project, different possible scenarios and their associated costs, in the aim of defining your project together by highlighting its potential.

Design

You have a dream to make come true? We reflect with you to bring your ideas to life, we advise you and accompany you in your choices. From the first sketch to the plans for public enquiry, we develop and rework every detail for a project that suits you.

Realisation

In order to guarantee the quality and consistency of your project, we assist you during the construction phase. We develop detail and execution plans and monitor the construction phase so that your ideas emerge correctly from the ground.

New building / renovation

We place a strong emphasis on renovation/transformation in our practice as a key lever in the ecological transition. We also design new buildings in which we explore green architectural and technical solutions in line with sustainable development with the aim of reducing the carbon footprint of the building.

Project coaching

We conceive the architectural project as a human adventure above all, and thus wish to support participative/collaborative approaches in self-planning and self-construction. We believe that this is a key to greater user resilience and a rich appropriation of the building, as well as a reservoir of collective intelligence for tenfold creativity at the service of innovative solutions.

Eco-materials expertise

Architecture is inseparable from the materials of which it is composed. A well-thought-out ecological building must be built with materials that respect the environment and human beings. We bring you our expertise to select together the appropriate materials and technical systems for your project.

TEAM

Alexia Schneider

Alexia Schneider
Architect EPF | Associate

LinkedIn

Damien Schneider

Damien Schneider
Architect EPF | Associate

LinkedIn

NETWORK

habitatdurable

habitatdurable
Association for environmentally and socially conscious homeowners.

Architects Declare

Architects Declare
Charter of Swiss architects for responding to climate emergency

POURQUOI PHYSALIDE ?

L’architecture est l’une des activités humaines ayant le plus d’impact sur l’environnement. La construction d’aujourd’hui est une consommatrice sans précédent de matériaux non renouvelables, d’énergie, de terrains, et la plus grande productrice de déchets en Suisse.

Devant la fragilité de notre environnement, la surexploitation des ressources, le réchauffement climatique et l’appauvrissement de la biodiversité, il nous appartient de réagir et de faire évoluer les choses.

Physalide est née de notre volonté de remettre en question les pratiques désormais conventionnelles de l’architecture et d’explorer des solutions alternatives écologiques et durables, de retrouver le lien entre l’être humain et la nature, d’offrir un environnement construit sain et harmonieux.

PARCE QUE...

«La production de béton produit annuellement 4,2 milliards de tonnes de CO2, loin devant l'aviation.»

Laisse béton?, TRACES nov. 2020, Espazium

VERS UNE ARCHITECTURE CONSCIENCIEUSE

montagne dans la brume

Envers l’environnement

Nous développons une architecture visant l’économie circulaire et une empreinte carbone réduite, ce par la prise en compte des besoins et des contraintes dès le début du projet. Nous privilégions l’emploi de matériaux biosourcés, recyclés et réemployés issus de circuits courts. Nous planifions pour optimiser l’utilisation de l’énergie, minimiser les déchets et pour favoriser la biodiversité.

vieille maison couverte de plantes grimpantes

Envers le patrimoine bâti

Nous refusons le « raser pour reconstruire » automatique et privilégions l’addition, la rénovation et la transformation du bâti existant dans une démarche de respect et d’intégration à l’environnement construit et naturel.
L’existant ne doit pas être vu comme un handicap, mais comme une ressource riche et fertile pour les projets d’aujourd’hui.

moulage d’une adobe

Envers l’humain

Il nous tient à cœur de répondre aux besoins et envies du maître d’ouvrage et de créer un environnement sain pour l’utilisateur en mettant l’accent sur des matériaux naturels, un climat intérieur agréable et un air de qualité.
Nous accordons également beaucoup d’importance à la valorisation du travail des artisans dans le domaine de la construction.

«Notre architecture actuelle viole le bon sens.»

Yona Friedman, L’architecture de survie

SERVICES & COMPETENCES

Etude de faisabilité

Vous souhaitez construire, rénover ou agrandir, mais vous êtes incertains concernant les lois, le potentiel bâtissable ou encore les coûts ? Nous pouvons vous fournir une analyse du cadre légal de votre projet, différents scénarios envisageables ainsi que leurs coûts associés, ceci dans l’optique de définir ensemble votre projet en mettant en lumière ses potentiels.

Conception

Vous avez un rêve à rendre réalité ? Nous réfléchissons avec vous pour donner vie à vos idées, nous vous conseillons et vous accompagnons dans vos choix. Du premier croquis aux plans de mise à l’enquête, nous développons et retravaillons chaque détail pour un projet qui vous ressemble.

Réalisation

Afin de garantir la qualité et la cohérence de votre projet, nous vous assistons dans la phase de construction. Nous développons des plans de détails et d’exécution et surveillons le chantier dans le but que vos idées émergent correctement de terre.

Conception neuve / rénovation

Nous accordons une place de choix à la rénovation/transformation dans notre pratique, s’agissant d’un levier clé dans la transition écologique. Nous réalisons également des bâtiments neufs dans lesquels nous explorons des solutions architecturales et techniques pérennes en accord avec le développement durable dans le but de réduire l’empreinte carbone du bâtiment.

Accompagnement de projets

Nous concevons le projet d’architecture comme une aventure humaine avant tout, et souhaitons ainsi soutenir les démarches participatives/collaboratives en autoplanification et en autoconstruction. Nous croyons qu’il s’agit là d’une clé pour une meilleure résilience des utilisateurs et pour une appropriation riche du bâtiment, ainsi que d’un réservoir d’intelligence collective pour une créativité décuplée au service de solutions novatrices.

Expertise éco-matériaux

L’architecture est indissociable des matériaux qui la composent. Un bâtiment écologique bien pensé doit être construit avec des matières respectueuses de l’environnement et de l’être humain. Nous vous apportons notre expertise pour sélectionner ensemble les matériaux et les systèmes techniques appropriés pour votre projet.

EQUIPE

Alexia Schneider

Alexia Schneider
Architecte EPF | Associée

LinkedIn

Damien Schneider

Damien Schneider
Architecte EPF | Associé

LinkedIn

RESEAU

habitatdurable

habitatdurable
Association pour les propriétaires respectueux de l’environnement et des relations sociales.

Architects Declare

Architects Declare
Charte des architectes suisses face à l’urgence climatique